RSS Feed

A Proud Moment

Posted on

It’s Monday morning and in twenty-five minutes’ time I have to go back to work. I love my job but I’m not ready to think about being there yet so I thought I’d distract myself by showing you what Steve and I did yesterday:Curtains!

We’ve been procrastinating about hanging curtains since the windows went in in November but my mum’s coming to visit this weekend and is going to want a little privacy while she’s sleeping on the sofa-bed. We couldn’t put it off any longer.

Steve hung the curtain rail which had to be attached to the ceiling – terrifying! It seemed like the fittings must surely slip straight out of the rawl plugs or the plasterboard crack but everything seems reassuringly secure!I chopped a second hand pair of curtains (remember the perfectly coloured ones from the warehouse sale?) and hemmed them, with only one “There is.no.correct.tension for this sewing machine!” crying fit. The stitching’s still a bit loopy – guess I need to give the machine a proper clean – but I’m ever so proud.

Also… please consider this post advance warning: I’m about to indulge in a week of home-related entries. I’ll be starting by showing you around our bathroom this evening with the rest of the flat to follow over the coming days. I’m not going to pretend our home is constantly spotless, effortlessly tidy or endlessly stylish, but – I don’t know about you, but I love having a nosy around other people’s homes, so I hope that at least some of you get a bit of a kick out of it.

4 responses »

  1. Well done you, it looks great! I’m owed a sewing machine as a birthday-christmas-birthday pressie and need to hurry up and get it ordered as I have a whole load of things like this that need doing! 🙂

    Reply
    • Yeah, do! My sewing machine and I are frequently not on speaking terms (I only did a sewing class this year because it’s so temperamental I thought I must be doing something wrong) but it’s so satisfying getting things made. Even things with bobbly stitching.

      Reply
  2. These are really nice – well done! I’m making a quilt out of leftover scraps this week, but my sewing machine is very temperamental too. It whirrs away nicely for a few minutes but then it snags and the thread spool pings around very quickly, meaning that I end up with a huge loop of thread at the back – it’s so annoying, but a new sewing machine is most definitely not on my priority list at the moment! We must battle on Sarah!xx

    Reply
    • Thank you! Yeah, I get loops on the front of the fabric – great! – and the upper tension’s too high regardless of what I have it set at. I gave it a proper clean last night and changed the needle so fingers crossed it will calm down now; it was fine when I first got it…!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

