RSS Feed

2011: Part One

Posted on

Here we are: April. A quarter of the way through the year already.

I didn’t have any clear vision for 2011; I was (and still am) really happy with my life/Steve/friends/job/home. But there were a few things I wanted to try to do this year and I thought now might be a good time to see how I’m getting along with those.

My few things were:

  • Go back to yoga.
  • Dance more.
  • Cook a little more and a little better.
  • The same goes for crafting.
  • Practise photographing people.
  • And spend a couple of weekends away.

So how am I doing?

Yoga: Success! A colleague and I have been going to lunchtime classes (almost) every week. The lunchtime thing is really working for me – it makes it harder to talk myself out of it (“I’ve just got home and it’s raining and there’s a good film on TV…” etc) and I love going back to work feeling all stretched out and relaxed.

Dancing: There is a class Steve and I are planning to try but it clashed with sewing – that ended yesterday so I think it’s time we got shimmying.

Cooking: This has been a complete failure. I could count on my fingers the number of times I’ve cooked this year (not counting heating up soup in the microwave). Steve started to get really into cooking round about New Year and who am I to discourage him? I do sometimes feel a bit guilty about the amount of cooking he does compared to me – I find myself loitering behind him in the kitchen, jiggling up and down on my toes, singing weird made-up songs about him, faking an interest in helping and just generally getting in the way – but he assures me he, “likes making sure we eat enough vegetables.” Fair enough.

Crafting: I think the sewing class makes this a success. I have a cushion! And a skirt! I’ve also reorganised all of the drawers of crafty stuff in the living room so that they actually open and things can be found fairly easily…

Photographing People: No…

Weekends Away: Yes. I’ve already had a weekend in Glasgow with Steve, a day in Glasgow with Lola and a day in Edinburgh with Kirsten and I/we have loads of fun plans to get out and about this coming year.

I’ve said it before, but I don’t think it’s realistic to decide to overhaul your life on the first of January. It’s a dark, dreich, demotivating time of year when it’s hard to put down the hot chocolate and dig out the Wii Fit; swearing to stop all of your bad behaviour and become a new, more perfect you overnight is – as far as I can see – setting yourself up for failure. I much prefer to have a list of things I intend to get around to over the coming months, to work them in to (or out of) my life gradually; I also like to reassess them once a quarter to see if they still hold true.

So, going forward with 2011, my resolutions are more:

  • Keep up the yoga.
  • Go dancing.
  • Dig out the aforementioned Wii Fit.
  • More cooking.
  • More crafting. I’m going to modify this to “more sewing” because, right now, I’m more focused on that than on simply making things.
  • Practice photographing people.

What about you? How are your New Year’s Resolutions coming along?  Is there anything else you’d like to aim for this year?

One response »

  1. I promised myself I was going to do more of the things I love. Right now I feel like I have been doing more of everything and I am knackered so off for some more of that other lovely thing… sleep!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

