RSS Feed

Long Weekend: Glasgow, day two

Posted on

Yes, indeedy, more photos from Steve’s and my weekend away! This is the Sunday batch (and the final lot).

It starts in Kelvingrove Park, which was across the road from our hotel and in which I found myself quite taken by the roof of an old toilet block. It was freezing, though, so we didn’t stay outdoors for very long!

This was the pub across the road. We didn’t go there; we went to the Beanscene cafe for lunch instead.

After lunch, we headed to Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum. I don’t usually feel comfortable taking photos in museums (I’m sure it was forbidden when I was little…?) but I was so blown away by these gurning heads in the Expression Gallery and by the beauty of the main hall that I couldn’t resist. Look closely and you’ll see somebody playing the organ in the hall!

At five, we headed back to the hotel to thaw out for a bit and Steve tried out the old shoe shine machine in the corridor.

We had dinner at Mother India; we’ve eaten in the Edinburgh branch before and loved it, so we had to try the original! It did not disappoint (despite a beeping smoke alarm!).

In the evening, we went to the gig which had prompted this weekend away in the first place. It was Rob Zombie with Skindred as support and was at the O2 Academy which is a fab old dance hall I couldn’t really photograph in the dark!

The gig was Steve’s choice but lots of fun. It was followed by a forty-five minute walk back to the hotel during which we spotted this alley (I wish we’d found it earlier as I would have loved to have tried out the hidden tea room!):

And on Monday we just had time for tea and sandwiches in Vanilla Black before catching the train back home.

9 responses »

  1. The O2 Academy’s a lovely venue isn’t it? Reminds me of the Music Hall, but possibly even nicer.

    Reply
  2. LOVE all these pictures. i like spotting where they are in Glasgow haha. 🙂

    Reply
  3. I was totally going to do a trip to edinburgh next month, but after all this, I cansee it getting changed to Glasgow!! Great posts this week 🙂 x

    Reply
  4. This post has made me very excited for my trip to Glasgow in a couple of weeks time, thanks! Having never explored the West End I am really looking forward to Kelvingrove and what I hear are endless vintage and curio shops, yay 🙂

    Reply
  5. Will do thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

